Thank you

I’m finally back from the 2023 National Scout Jamboree. I had the time of my life!

I attended two Jamborees as a Youth. In 1981, I was immature. In 1985, I returned to Ft. A.P. Hill as a ‘Jamboree Veteran’, and absolutely ROCKED the Jambo. I never thought I’d have a Jamboree experience that surpassed 1985, but I was wrong.

At this Jamboree, I met wonderful NESA staff and volunteers, representatives from the BSA Alumni Association, and informed hundreds of Youth Scouts about Alpha Phi Omega. I had an absolute blast!

As APO Booth Chair, my personal ‘Thank You’ goes to Dave Kerns, Charlie Aman, and Howard G. Barnes for their tireless efforts. Thanks also to Dana H. McCorkle, Alex Lewis, Jonathan Glassman, and Diana Ferguson-Wheeler for providing several days of service to the booth. Rodger Salzman, I couldn’t have done it without your personal guidance.

A HUGE “Thank You” to Casey Jakubowski, who purchased our off-site AirBnB. You’re the Best!

APO Eagles ROCKED this Jamboree! We even got to meet our 2023 Leaders of Service scholarship recipient, Bridget Brady. It was like having a rock star in the booth and at the Alumni Reception.

Thank you to APO Eagles for the Alumni Association Distinguished Service Key (DSK). Now I need to earn this every day and have fun doing it. This one’s for you Jamie Conover Stewart, as you continue to inspire me to spread the news of Alpha Phi Omega every day!

John Conover, Jr.

Alpha Phi Omega 2023 National Scout Jamboree Booth Chair